First Lady Michelle Obama honors National Design Awards Winners


First Lady Michelle Obama honors the Smithsonian's Cooper Hewitt National Design Awards Winners and speaks to young adults about opportunities in design.

The 2011 National Design Awards recipients are:

Lifetime Achievement: Matthew Carter
Design Mind: Steven Heller
Corporate and Institutional Achievement: Knoll
Architecture Design: Architecture Research Office
Communication Design: Rick Valicenti
Fashion Design: J. Mendel
Interaction Design: Ben Fry
Interior Design: Shelton, Mindel & Associates
Landscape Architecture: Gustafson Guthrie Nichol
Product Design: Continuum




Antonio Ortiz

Antonio Ortiz has always been an autodidact with an eclectic array of interests. Fascinated with technology, advertising and culture he has forged a career that combines them all. In 1991 Antonio developed one of the very first websites to market the arts. It was text based, only available to computer scientists, and increased attendance to the Rutgers Arts Center where he had truly begun his professional career. Since then Antonio has been an early adopter and innovator merging technology and marketing with his passion for art, culture and entertainment. For a more in-depth look at those passions, visit

◉ Permalink